Hello world!

Welcome! We’ll be getting this blog up and running as soon as possible. In the mean time, enjoy some slightly-less-structured-than-I-hope-this-blog-will-average thoughts.

I’m embarking on a project to read people who are ideologically opposite me. So, starting with Burke and working my way on to Kirk, Rand, etc. I started with (for no other reason than it was on the shelf as I was leaving) Wayne Allyn Root’s The Conscience of a Libertarian: Empowering the Citizen Revolution with God, Guns, Gambling & Tax Cuts. I’m about 75 pages in, so I’ll save the full review and withhold overall judgment, but there were a few things I wanted to comment on.

  1. If you claim on page xx that you took out a student loan from the government, do not claim on page xxii  that the government never did anything to help you.
  2. Similarly, if Ronald Reagan is a hero of yours, you are either not a libertarian, seriously misunderstand the meaning of libertarianism, or seriously misunderstand the Reagan era.
  3. Using domestic violence as a rhetorical trick is low, tacky, and (most importantly) trivializes domestic violence.

So, more on this, and (God willing) more authors in the coming days and weeks.

(Edit: naturally, the first post had some typos which I have now fixed.)
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment